Daddy, Underground

Daddy.
The long-legged man who would stand above me,
I had to look up.
I was weightless, picked up easily,
And walked upside-down on the ceiling.

No fear of spiders, flies or bugs,
He could sort them all with card and a cup,
The ones in the corners, far too high,
I had to look up.
His long legs made it easy.

A guru of all, if only you asked,
He’d keep his knowledge inside his head,
Languages, recipes, science, and more,
If only I’d asked, he might have said.
I had to look up.

I miss it, him,
The height, the knowledge, the being around,
No one to catch the spiders now,
Not now he’s Daddy, underground.
I cannot look up.
I have to look down.

[Dedicated to Bruce William Kennedy]

Leave a Reply

